Great time at 6th annual Raley Field Brewfest

Okay, here’s my first real attempt at blogging.

I was able to attend the 6th annual Raley Field Brewfest in West Sacramento last night with my friend John. This was my first time at this brewfest and I was impressed.

This was the first time the event was held on the field. It was held on the concourse in past years. All the breweries were lined up along the outfield wall with the music stage at second base. I really enjoyed this setup as I had a clear view of all the beer choices plus the outfield provided ample room to mingle, eat and relax to the music.

This event, a partnership between Raley Field and the Northern California Brewer’s Guild, showcase 50+ Northern California Breweries, the best the BAY AREA, GOLD COUNTRY and NORTH COAST regions have to offer.

I went into this brewfest with a strategy. I would only taste beers not readily available to me (so no Sierra Nevada, Lagunitas, or Anderson Valley) and I would keep a log of my tastes (I kept the log, but neglected to make tasting notes!).

I wanted to branch out tasting different styles other than my favorite India Pale Ale, but when I looked at my list I still had six IPAs on the list.

Last night’s tastes were:

Auburn Alehouse PU240 Imperial IPA
Mad River Jamaica Red Ale
Eel River Organic IPA (I was hoping Mad River, Eel River or Lost coast would have some Saison du Humboldt!!!)
High Water Hop Riot IPA
Heretic Evil Cousin IPA (very hoppy)
Berryessa Double Tap IPA (this one blew me away, not what I was expecting, but amazing)
Ol’ Republic Biere de Garde
Track 7 Soulman Stout
Riley’s Wildcat IPA
American River Coloma Brown

A couple of notes on the festival:

1. Don’t buy your ticket online. My $30 ticket cost more than $44 once Ticketmaster added it’s fees!
2. The outfield location has one disadvantage — it’s a bit of a hike to the bathrooms on the concourse.
3. Food was lacking. The only option (other than a cheese booth) was the stadium food. Choices were hot dogs, burgers, black bean burger, and chips. Add some local food vendors!!
4. Music provided by The Remedies was good, but I would add a band or two.

Overall, a good festival. I plan to return for the 7th annual event next year.

Leave a Reply

